Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Da Vinci 1.0 not recognized
Hello everyone, new to this forum.
I recently purchased a used/broken Da Vinci 1.0. The main problem I have with it is that it is not being recognized by my computer. I do not get the familiar windows chime when I plug the usb cable in. The three led's on the motherboard are all lit, and the stepper motors all power up. The LCD lights up, however nothing is displayed (ribbon cable is damaged). I do not see any damage to the motherboard. Anyone have any ideas?  Does anyone on this forum repair these boards?

I have a 1.0a that I love, I purchased this one with the intentions of flashing it and installing an E3d V6 hot end.
Maybe I should do a RAMPS conversion?

Thanks for any help in advance, Dave
I'm new to the da Vinci as well but I'll try helping.

Try different usb cables (I've had cables suddenly go bad on me) and did anything pop up in device manager? If there isn't anything appearing or moving in device manager then I'd suspect the last person fried the board and a ramps replacement would be in order. 

Also take out the board and check the traces between the usb port and the central chip for any obvious damages or scorch marks. I'm not sure if these boards have em but most if not all arduinos can interface seperately with a computer using an arduino avr programmer. If you can find the isp pins (if there are any)  then you can by pass the on board usb port and interface more directly. This would at least let you know if the board is salvageable.

But ramps is always a good fallback option.

-applesan
Thanks for the response. I have tried different usb cables, and the printer still does not show up in device manager. I removed the board and looked at it, no sign of damage. All traces and components look good (from outside anyway!) usb socket is fine, no cold solder joints, etc. Looks like it's time for ramps.