Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First Layer Issue
Hi all,

First of all I'd like to thank the entire Voltivo Forum community for all the resources that helped me a great bunch in the success of my flashed DaVinci 1.0 with Repetier 0.92 along with other helpful information.

I was a noob in the acutal 3d printing world about 3 days ago. (I've seen the 3d printing done at friends house and understood a little bit about how this thing work just by talking to people.) However, a few days ago I decided to take out the DaVinci in the office, which nobody loves after they had purchased a new makerbot, and flash the firmware to have full control of this machine!

I am currently using simplify 3D as my primary control/slicer software. S3D talks to the printer no problem, and I did about 1 day worth of testing and calibrating during work, but there's one thing I just can't quite get. I've done the bed leveling calibration in the S3D (software does 'Home All' first, then moves to different corners while I manually slide a business card between the nozzle tip and the bed surface to adjust the leveling screws), all seemed fine and dandy. BUT! the nozzle is always far off in the Z-axis for the first layer - skirt/brim (about 3mm), which creates awful wavy lines that could by ruined easily by the nozzle head movement across the bed during 2nd pass.

SO the first layer nozzle-to-bed surface is about 3~4mm (huge gap IMHO), but as the printer goes on, the nozzle tip is extremely close to the previous layer, almost zero layer height, the print is still able to finished the print job without problems, but sure not top-notch quality.

Am i missing something in the settings that I am not aware of? I print ABS extruder @ 235C, bed @ 110C. speed 4000mm/min. first layer height 80%.
I am suspecting the first layer height 80% could be the cause, as the result is complete opposite of what I think the setting is for.