Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Additional fan control through S3D?
This is a long shot, but I thought I'd ask anyway.
I'm just getting into printing with PLA on my 1.0, I've designed and printed a layer fan to combat part warping, I can control fan speed with a fan controller (installed a PC PSU, so no issues finding power).
What I'm curious about is this: is there an extra set of contacts on the board that could control an extra fan that I can solder to? And if there are, is it possible to control the fan speed through software (I'm using Simplify3D).
I just know, with using a fan controller I will forget to turn the layer-fan on/off when switching between ABS/PLA.
Any feedback or alternative suggestions are welcome.
Thank you,
Anton
Anton, if you are using repetier firmware and a dav1.0, you can repurpose the extruder fan for an object fan that can be controlled via gcode. Then you just run power to the exruder fan and leave it full on.

I have an empty FAN2 header on my board that ive been meaning to install pins on to test out, but the above method has been working for me so I havent gotten around to it yet,
There are several threads discussing how to re-purpose the connector of the stock extruder cooling fan so you can use it as layer cooling fan controlled via gcode. Needless to say that you'll need to use the Repetier firmware.
hi

I connected the fan directly from the extruder on the motherboard. (two pins of the middle of the FAN2 connector). The fan will remain on when the printer is on.

I plugged my cooling fan PLA on the extruder and I activated the control over repetier[Image: m5NMMYih.jpg]
Thank you guys for your help Wink
I did not want to go with Repetier, no reason other than I didn't want to spend time flashing the printer (will probably end up flashing the firmware later anyway for curiosity's sake)