Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Which bowden setup to go with the E3d carriage?
I've been lurking around here for a while, and decided I'm finally going to take the plunge in setting up Andy's e3d bowden carriage and I was wondering if you guys could share some of the steps you have taken, parts you have bought, considerations you've had to take, modifications to the printer, etc. It appears as if all of the information is scattered between a bunch of different posts, so if I can, I'll update this thread with the full bill of materials / steps / configuration to help other people in the same exact situation as myself once I am more educated in the subject.

Pardon me if I seem 3d Printer illiterate -- I am just a lowly software engineer who tinkers with hardware as a hobby, and I'm pretty new in general to the 3d printing world.

I have been looking at the following:

Airtripper V3 (http://airtripper.com/1071/airtrippers-b...ed-design/) (Bill of materials is linked on the thingiverse page to his blog)
Andy's E3D bowden carriage (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:594392)

Materials I have so far:
AirTripper V3 printed parts
E3d Bowden Carriage printed parts
4x LM8UU Bearings
4MM OD 2MM ID teflon tubing
E3d v6 12v + bowden add-on

Materials I know i still need:

Screws / nuts / washers / virtually everything for the AirTripper

Questions:
- As far as the 12v fan goes that comes with the E3D.. have you guys just plugged it into the arduino DUE in the davinci and repurposed the 5v fan for cooling PLA?
- Does the Davinci already use MK7 gears that the AirTripper recommends?
- How did you go about attaching the filament feeder to the printer externally?
- How did you wire everything up?
- Did you need to re-do the thermistor tables to work with the E3d instead of the one in the stock repetier firmware for davinci?