Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tapping power from 1.0
Please be brutally honest, Im not an electrical engineer. Is there any reason I shouldnt tap 5v and 12v for extruder fan from the power connections on the board/plug? Ive had a Pi plugged into 5v and havent really noticed any issues. For the 100th time I forgot to plug my extruder fan into the wall and I got pissed and wired it straight into the 12v plug. Aside from my current hazardous implementation, is there any reason to avoid stealing power from here?

Id like to avoid burning my house down or even worse, burning down my printer and my house. so hurl insults if necessary...please.

[Image: 2015-01-12%2021.57.05.jpg]
Ok, Ive printed an hour like this, tapping both 5v for the Pi and 12v for extruder fan. I sure would like to close this thing up and be done with all the wires hanging out of it. Im not looking to hold anyone liable, would just like to get some feedback on whether there is any inherent danger or concern about tapping power off the board plugs. Any input is welcome, seriously.
I'm very much interested in the very same thing, as my adventure to tap power from the LED bar didn't end up too well (board toasted). I was thinking of doing this too, but like you, I'm not 100% sure that it's the right thing to do.
Apparently its a taboo topic with 31 views and no replies, no one even bit to call me stupid! Im friends with several electrical engineers at work, the verbal abuse will be severe but I'll ask them today and post their feedback.