Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Repetier -- Unable to heat extruder
Very much a newbie here; I've been trolling this forum for a long time and finally decided to take the plunge by installing Repetier on my 1.0A.

I followed the directions here (https://forum.voltivo.com/showthread.php?tid=8333 to get everything set up and running. I'm trying to calibrate the extruder, however I can't get the bloody thing to heat using the manual mode on RepetierHost. The only time I've been able to get it to heat is using the "Clean Nozzle" function from the LCD. Am I missing something?
Okay, so I was able to get it to turn on by sending manual gcode: M104 S190 which moved the slider, however if I move the slider manually, still no love.
James, when you initially launch Repetier host and connect, does the manual control tab show a red line through the extruder icon? Sounds like you either arent making a connection to begin with, or your extruder is slow to initialize, forcing the printer into Dry Run mode as it thinks the extruder isnt connected. Please toggle the log in repetier host if its not enabled already, so we can see what the complaint is.

I didnt go through the full wireless printing instruction you linked, but thought Id mention if you are printing wireless and the printer usb is connected to a raspberry pi, then you would print through octoprint, not repetier host. Use repetier when the printer is directly connected to the PC running repetier.
Sorry, last thing. In repetier manual tab, you have to click the extruder icon to turn on the extruder, then you can adjust temps via numerical value. Even though the extruder icon doesnt look like a button, click it and it will begin to heat to the current specified value. Good news is if you can heat it via clean nozzle, [strike]then you probably dont have the slow extruder init problem that some of us do[/strike] then you probably dont have the slow bed thermistor init problem that some of us do.