Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Printing With Support Material / Maximum Dimensions
First off I want to say thanks to all the people who made the custom firmware possible Wink .

I have been tinkering around with the RH firmware on my DaVinci 1.0 and after a few misprints, bed leveling, etc. I was able to print some really nice models. However, I have run into a couple issues . I have tried searching the forums for others with these problems to no avail. I am still pretty new to 3D printing so It is possible that I am just being a bonehead. Anyway, I'll get to the point.

First, I have had some trouble with the support material generated by Slic3r. It can be VERY difficult to remove. When I was using the XYZware I could remove the support material quite easily using only my hands and fingernails; It flaked right off the prints. With Slic3r, the supports are very thick and rigid. I invariably have to use some kind of tool to remove it. I have tried a ton of different combinations of pattern spacing, pattern type, interface layers, interface spacing, and so on. Is there a way to get supports that are not such a pain to remove?