Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A few questions
I spent a few hours on the forum as a guest, and thought I should create an account to say hi.
I just got my Da Vinci 1.0 from newegg. They had a deal where you basically buy the printer and get 2 extra filaments for free. So if you are looking for another printer (or your first), take a look there I think the shipping was about $15 more, but small price to pay for 3 extra filament cartridges. I don't know if it matters, but it was the Canadian newegg site.
So, I am really new to this whole 3D priting thing. I have researched a lot into many aspects of 3D printers, but not so much the different software (Untill I orderd the printer) then I discovered meshlabs and meshmixer. As far as software to actually print to the printer, I have only experienced XYZware.
Now, obviously I want to save money on filament (Who doesn't) so I need to do something about it. I consider myself a computer expert (I hope so, repairing them is what I do got a living) but have no knowledge of programming or electronics. I have moderate experience with firmware upgrading and stuff, and upgrading to custom/reverting to stock doesn't seem too hard, and is something I am confident in doing. So, now that you know a bit about me, hopefully you can make some suggestions.
First, I have heard if you downgrade to 1.1E, you are no longer required to use the filament cartridge, or something. Is this the case, and if so, what (if any) are the downfalls?
Secondly, this Repetier firmware that is out there. Will it allow me to use other filaments (I can't find this information anywhere) and although it would make sense to me it would, I want to make 100% sure.