Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
All Axes Out of Calibration
Hey Folks,
First I wanted to say that I bought the XYZ Da Vinvci because of the strong community and the ability to mod it, but I am in a catch 22 of of being a college student having limited funds for replacement parts. I am new to 3d printing but I like to think I am technically inclined. I am 2 weeks in to owning the XYZ Da Vinci 1.0. I think its awesome what this board is doing and I hope I can contribute once I get more experience.

Background to issue: While working on a tolerance for making mechanical snap together pieces (like legos) I noticed that my printer was printing circles/cylinders more like ovals. I have read that the x belt or the y belt maybe loose, but I wanted to start with something more simple and make sure my heat bed was calibrated. I went through the trials and tribulations of using the built in calibration to only start having bigger print issues. The melted filament wasn't sticking to the heatbed but becoming "stringy" and building up around the extruder nozzle. I figured the nozzle was getting clogged. So I tried unclogging the extruder without taking it out of the carriage but I ended up having to. I believe the reprap blog called it a "hot clog".

Issue: I was having trouble putting the extruder back into the carriage, but with my limited experience I believe it has been set properly. Now the X axis is too far right, the y axis is too far back, and the z axis comes up too far. I even had to stop the printer after it bumped the heat bed. When it returns home the extruder nozzle doenst even meet the self-cleaning device on the drip pan. I lowered the calibration on the heat bed (just enough using the manual paper method) for now so that it does not bump the extruder during tests. I still can't print because the filament doesn't stick to the heat bed..not even to the parameter lines before the base of the part.