Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Z Probing
Ok so I just took the plunge and installed REP on my Davinci. Can someone walk me through on how to set up Z probing so I can get the auto bed leveling please? Im a complete newb so if you can make it as dumb as possible that would be great. lol

I copied all my settings from here : https://forum.voltivo.com/showthread.php?tid=8068

Thank you
Auto leveling seems to work fine for me, although I've read here that some have problems or don't like it.
Here's the procedure I've been using:
First, send a G28 to home everything. Turn the printer off. Get a rough calibration by cranking the bed screws so that when you move the extruder manually over the bed, you can "just" slide a piece of paper under the nozzle at the 3 adjustment points. Move the nozzle off the bed. Now raise the bed about one turn or so on the screws. The main reason for this is because if you don't, the auto level calibration frequently fails because the probe may or may not touch the metal corners on the bed properly.
Because of the way the z probe works on this machine, a typical setting for "Z probe Height" is 0.000. You can fine-tune the first layer thickness by changing this value. Setting it to 0.1000 or more will make the first layer thicker.
Turn the printer back on and connect Rep Host.
Now, heat up the bed and extruder, and THEN clean the z probe with the wire brush. I've found that it won't really clean when it's cold, as it usually has a coating of plastic residue that doesn't want to come off. The probe and metal frame MUST be clean for this to work. You can tell if it's not clean by the way it behaves when it does the probe. It all must be hot for calibration, as the bed will usually bend a bit when it's hot.