Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Slicing error
Hi there,

I'm new to 3D printing, have only had my daVinci printer for a couple of days. I am both impressed and frustrated at the same time (more on that in another post I think).

Anyway, I attempted to print the T-rex skull currently on thingiverse as a remix competition. I figured it would be cool to print the base skull pieces just to see if the dV can handle it.

The jaw part printed fine (after 3 false starts, contributing to part of the afore-mentioned frustration) and looks quite nice in white. Then went to print the skull piece. Loaded the STL file into XYZware ok, and hit the print button. I selected good quality, 30%, 0.1 thickness and left the rest as default. About 6 minutes into the slice, it aborted with the following error (spelling as per the message):

Generate *3w files fail!
Reasons:
a. Object slicer error or slicing uncomplete.
b. Unknown object slicer file type.

The skull piece is not out of bounds for the dV's print area. I ran it a few times, same error at the same time (about 6 mins in).

Anybody seen this? Anybody tried to print the T-rex skull? I am not adverse to trying with Slic3r if that's what it takes, if anyone has any tips on that.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers,

FP
Anybody?

Bueller?

Could someone do me a favour and download the file from thingiverse and try running it through XYZ as if you're going to print it so it runs the slicer, and see what happens please? You don't have to waste filamnent, just curious to see if it does the same thing in someone else's XYZware. I am using 1.1.29.4 and my printer is on J firmware (although it never gets that far, not sure if it makes a difference in this case).

Update - I tried to put in a link to the file on thingiverse, but it would appear that it's no longer downloadable in the original form, only people's mods are available. If anyone's interested I can email you the file.

Cheers,

Pete