Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just ordered my Da Vinci, where do I start with Repetier?
Hey guys!

This is my first post here, so forgive me if I'm not up to date. I just ordered my Da Vinci the other day as my first 3D printer and it is yet to arrive, but I'm already starting to think of how I may like to get it set up. I heard you guys have figured out how to make it use Repetier, and I'm wondering how I get started with that once I get my printer and do a couple of the test prints to make sure everything is working ok. I have zero experience with coding, but I have built my own computer and installed mods on my videogames, so I'm thinking with some detailed instructions I'd be able to manage Smile

So where do I start? All suggestions will be appreciated Wink
suggestion 1) please go through the development forum and read it all. reading and understanding this stuff is like learning French. you might know some stuff, but not this. Took me awhile just understanding Arduino, much less figuring out the axis'.

Suggestion 2) If this is your first printer, Stick with the original software and proprietary filament until you understand enough to get yourself out of trouble when you accidentally softbrick your printer. replacing the XYZ ware file so your can read g codes is the first thing you should do (in the Desktop software related (XYZWare and others) dept.)

I would not attempt to do anything else with it until you understand what youre reading on this forum. Even with me knowing a decent amount of things pertaining to arduino, Repetier, Axis', steppers, filament, why it curls....etc, it still took me a week (coupl hours a day), a lot of reading, and more forum help before I got it running and printing on RH.

I'm not sayin.......Im just sayin.... :whistle:
Something to consider,

I had 0 3d printing experience when we got this little ball rolling. Out of the people that got this ball rolling I have the least programming and electronics experience.