Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Firmware J?
Hello,

So I'm very very new to 3d printing. I'm quite intimidated by many of the things involved with all of it. I originally intended on getting a kit, so I could build a printer of my own, learn how the parts all work together, and learn how to use the various open source software and firmwares. For certain reasons, that didn't happen, so I ended up getting an XYZ Davinci. I've printed 3 things on it so far, and I am really impressed. I couldn't tell you how it compares to other printers, but from some that I have seen, the quality seems quite good. When I first fired up the printer and software, it had me upgrade. I've only recently looked into any of this, but I read that the dreaded I firmware caused people a lot of problems. Well, the software upgraded straight to firmware J, and like I said, I've just been enjoying it as it is. Here's the deal though:

I really don't want to spend 45 bucks a kilo, when I can get filament for less than half that price. So, I've read about the XYZap, and have interest in it. It has your standard warnings about the dreaded I firmware, but at the very bottom it says that the printer seems to print fine with firmware J, just so long as the temp is set higher (on the chip.) Now, what I want to know is, do I really need to know much more than this? Can I just use firmware J, get the xyzap, and use external filament on a spool? I'm guessing the higher temp is needed for non xyz filament?
Brad, without switching the firmware over to the Repetier, you'll have to have at least an empty cartridge installed that has been reset with the resetting device. You don't really have to worry about the temperature setting on the chip as long as you look at your Gcode. The Gcode will override the temperature setting on the chip, but during the initial heatup, the machine will warmup to whatever is specified on the cartridge.